Illuminati 2G Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Illuminati 2G Forums

The official hip hop forum for I2G

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Mark Batson Interview

Go down 
AuthorMessage
D~Mac
Admin
D~Mac

Mark Batson Interview Empty
PostSubject: Mark Batson Interview   Mark Batson Interview Icon_minitimeMon Oct 17, 2016 1:04 pm

http://www.illuminati2g.com/untouchable/2016/10/16/mark-batson-interview/

I2G chilled with legendary producer and musician, Mark Batson, for a exclusive interview. We discuss his start in hip hop, working with Dr. Dre and much more so check it out.

I2G is here with the one and only Mark Batson, how’s it going?

All is well. I’m feeling blessed.

How did you get your start in music and who are some of your musical

influences out there coming up?

That’s always a pretty intricate and involved question for me. I started learning classical piano when I was 4 years old. My father worked at the Post Office but was also a part time opera singer. I grew up in Bushwick projects in Brooklyn. It was around the time of the birth of rap and I was exposed to hip-hop at its early stages. In the projects, on Saturdays drummers would come from many different neighbors and have a drum circle that I could hear from my window on the 5th floor of 811 Flushing Avenue. I just remember that one year guys from the projects came down with some turntables and plugged them up to the street lamp to start playing hip hop in the park. I heard those first raps from my window but later on would go to Harlem to see the Imperial Master DJ Jazzy J, and then later on Grandmaster Flash, the Coldcrush Brothers and Romantic Fantastic Five. Me and my brother collected tapes of them and listened in our apartment until the tapes were worn out. Master Don and Death Committee, Funky Four +1, Busy Bee Starski and Spoonie Gee and the Treacherous Three were also so